Ed O'Brien Radiohead

News for December 13, 1999

More articles. Click MTV and NME.

[thanks to Xavier]

For those who’d like to purchase the Eureka Street soundtrack (you know, the one where Ed played the guitars, etc…) but couldn’t find a place to purchase it from, has it now. Go and indulge.
[thanks to Todd]

Amnesiac Radiohead

News for December 10, 1999

webcastWell, what a night last night was! For those of you lucky enough to catch the Radiohead special “Amateur Nite” on their site last night, you’re most likely craving for more.

You may remember the w.a.s.t.e. email from Mel last week saying that we should download the RealPlayer for reasons left unknown. Last night the RealPlayer was put in use! The boys of Radiohead set up a video camera and went on the air around 6PM Eastern time. All five were there, along with Nigel (their producer), Mel, and a few others. Basically the first 2 hours were just Thom and Jonny playing DJs. They played many many great songs including tracks from PJ Harvey, Miles Davis, Aphex Twin, Johnny Cash, etc… It was a real party atmosphere, topped off with a nice Christmas tree in the background. DJ Thom was wonderful at keeping us entertained.

Here’s a partial play list: (thanks to Follow Me Around)
01. The Fall – Birmingham school of business school
02. The Fall – Wrong Place Right Time
03. Gescom – Change rmx on skam
04. Charlie Mingus – Freedom
05. Miles davis – Jack johnson
06. Beefheart – Gimme that heart boy
07. Scientist – Cloning process
08. Betty davis – If I’m In Luck I might get picked Up
09. Autechre – Arch carrier
10. Close encounters – Induction of Barry
11. Syd Barrett – Golden hair
12. Mahalia Jackson – Come sunday
13. Aphex twin – Squarepusher – FHM acid
14. Iggy pop – Nightclubbing
15. Sonic youth – Tunic
16. Prince Buster – Al capone
17. Gabor szabo – Jazz raga
18. From nuggets – Vol2 original artyfactsfrom the 1st psychedelic era 1965 – 1968
19. Talking Heads – This Must be The place
20. Can – pinch
21. Squarepusher – UFO’s over leytonstone
22. Squarepusher – Title unknown
22. PJ Harvey – The River
23. Global Goon – Rockford
24. Neue – Hallo gallo
25. Frances Lai – Le passager de la pluie
26. Oscar Peterson – Brotherhood of man
27. Batacuda – ?
28. Johnny Cash – San Quentin Blues
29. Ravel – String Quartet in F
30. Andre Previn (Turangalila symphony) – Messiaen
31. Ramsey Lewis – Dancing in the street
32. Monster Mash.
33. A1 People – Do It
34. Sing a song of Motor Cars – Mini Moke song
35. Can – ?
36. Popol Vuh – ?

webcastFinally at the end of the webcast, the camera turned around and there was Radiohead, instruments in hand, getting ready to play. They performed a new song which is believed to be “Knives Out”. We’re still waiting for confirmation on that. Some of the lyrics can be found at the official site here. Overall, it was great fun. Radiohead definitely has the luckiest fans in the world. Count on that.

In other news…

There is a small article in the current issue of Rolling Stone which features Thom. Here is what he had to say about the millennium:

“In the near future, I will build a bunker for myself and all my friends. It will go down a long, long way, and I will buy some nuclear missiles when the money comes through and hold all the faceless powers for ransom until they show themselves for who they really are. I shall then bring about world peace by singing “Kumbaya.”

Many thanks to J for that.

Amnesiac Radiohead

News for December 4, 1999

Ed is on a roll. His diary was updated again with a mention of another new song, “I Will.”

The Sundance Channel is giving away 10 autographed copies of the Meeting People is Easy DVD among other prizes. Go now and good luck!

If any of you subscribe to the Sundance Channel either by cable or satellite, you may be interested to know that Meeting People is Easy will be aired on the following dates and times:

Monday, December 6 – 9:00 PM
Sunday, December 12 6:30 AM & 4:30 PM
Friday, December 17 7:05 AM & 1:15 PM & 7:05 PM
Thursday, December 23 6:25 AM & 1:00 PM
Tuesday, December 28 11:35 AM & 1:00 AM

Ed O'Brien Kid A Radiohead

News for December 3, 1999

Well, Ed’s diary has been discovered again by the press. There is an interesting article at Sonicnet which quotes a spokesman from Radiohead, Lewis Jamison, saying that the new album will not be released until the summer of 2000. You can read the article in it’s entirety here. There’s also another article based on Ed’s journal at Jam! Music and another at SpinOnline.

Ed O'Brien Radiohead

News for December 2, 1999

Hey! Ed’s diary has finally been updated! The band are in London at the moment with Nigel mixing some of the tracks. Go read it now!

The email from w.a.s.t.e. was sent out today. It mentions that you should download the newest version of the RealPlayer. For what purpose, we don’t know. Maybe a new song will be released over the internet? That’s just speculation. Here’s a copy of the email: If you don’t already have it, then please go to and download the latest version of Realplayer. There is a free version for you to download on that site. Don’t ask me why……you just never know when you might need it.

Last Post dates for Chrimbo: (as recommended by the Royal Mail)

Outside Europe: 6th December Europe: 13th December Second Class (UK): 18th December

If orders get to us after these last post dates then you won’t get your luverly shirts for Christmas..

If you would rather not trust the Internet with your credit card number then w.a.s.t.e will be taking telephone orders from the 1st December until the 17th between 10am and 5pm.

Please ring 0118 956 9183 (if you’re in the UK) or +44 118 956 9183 (if you are outside of the UK) to place an order.

You can also print the order form from the shop and fax it to us on the same number as above and then you don’t have to talk to anyone at all ever……..

Jonny Greenwood Radiohead Stanley Donwood The Bends

News for December 1, 1999

Radiohead made it on MTV’s “100 Greatest Videos Ever Made” special. “Fake Plastic Trees” came in at # 77. You can watch the countdown on December 6th through December 11th at 8PM Est.

Maybe you’d like to check out the new pictures that were taken and messed up by Jonny? They are quite nice and hopefully there will be more. This is what Stan (the Man) had to say:

“theyre jonnys photos done with liquid light onto scrappy peices of paper
hes going to do some more but i dont know how soon theyll be up in that gallery
ps youre supposed to imagine the music from ‘the gallery’ in take hart/vision on while you look at them”

Why don’t you go take a look.

If you’re a member of w.a.s.t.e., be on the look out for an email in the coming days. If you have no idea what w.a.s.t.e. is or would like to join it, go there.