Atoms for Peace

Atoms for Peace

Atoms for Peace is Thom Yorke’s side project/live band formed in late 2009. The group consists of Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar and piano); Flea (bass) of Red Hot Chili Peppers; longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich (guitar and keyboards); Joey Waronker (drums) who has played with artists such as R.E.M., Beck, Smashing Pumpkins and Walt Mink; and Mauro Refosco (drums and percussion) of Forro in the Dark.

The line-up had their first live performance at the Echoplex in Los Angeles on 2 October 2009, where they played the entirety of Thom Yorke’s solo debut album, The Eraser, as well as some new songs and Radiohead b-side “Paperbag Writer”.

Until February 2010, the band did not have a name and was known as either “Thom Yorke’s live band” or “Thom Yorke????”, as some marquees and the poster for the 2010 Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival read. However, on the official website, the band was listed simply as “Thom Yorke”. Through Radiohead’s official website, Yorke officially named the band as “Atoms for Peace”. The band shares a name with both The 1953 speech by American President Dwight D. Eisenhower and a song from Yorke’s debut solo album The Eraser.

For the latest tour dates, check out our gigography.