Phil Selway

Philip Selway’s “Familial” Out Now

Today marks the release of Phil’s solo album, Familial, in the United States. It was released yesterday in Europe. The Village Voice spoke with Selway about the shift from Radiohead drummer to solo singer-songwriter for Familial. The Voice‘s Vijith Assar says of the album : “Elliott Smith’s influence runs strong on these delicately strummed tracks, Selway’s quiet whisper cooing over songs steeped in striking sentimentality.” Selway talks about the new album, including his passing percussion duties along to Wilco’s Glenn Kotche, in an interview at

Here’s the tracklist:

  1. “By Some Miracle”
  2. “Beyond Reason”
  3. “A Simple Life”
  4. “All Eyes on You”
  5. “The Ties That Bind Us”
  6. “Patron Saint”
  7. “Falling”
  8. “Broken Promises”
  9. “Don’t Look Down”
  10. “The Witching Hour”

We suggest you go out and purchase it now. You can get it on iTunes, Amazon, or your local record shop.

Selway and his band make their way to Ireland this weekend for the Electric Picnic at Stradbally Hall, as part of their month-long tour.