Radiohead tour

Radiohead for Haiti – Tonight in Los Angeles

Radiohead for Haiti poster

Concert poster – photo by markdnger

Radiohead performed tonight at Music Box at the Fonda in Los Angeles to benefit the Haiti earthquake which left the country devastated. Since tickets were auctioned off, the hope is that a lot of money was raised for the cause. Current reports are that around $572,000 was raised, with $2,000 being the highest ticket bid. About 1,300 people were in attendance, many of them celebrities as you would expect.

The show just wrapped up, and here’s the setlist, courtesy of Muzjiks:

1. Faust Arp
2. Fake Plastic Trees
3. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi
4. The National Anthem
5. Nude
6. Karma Police + reprise
7. Kid A
8. Morning Bell
9. How to Disappear Completely [ondes martenot intro]
10. Wolf at the Door [Thom forgetting the words]
11. The Bends
12. Reckoner [w/ false start]
13. Lucky
14. Bodysnatchers
15. Dollars & Cents
16. Airbag [fan choice between ‘Airbag’ and ‘Just’]
17. Exit Music [Thom alone to start]

Encore #1
18. Everything In Its Right Place [Thom solo on piano]
19. You and Whose Army? [rest of band returns to stage]
20. Pyramid Song
21. All I Need

[crowd is stomping]

Encore #2
22. Lotus Flower
23. Paranoid Android
24. Street Spirit (Fade Out)

Did you go to the show? If so, let us know your experience in the comments and gigography! We’re definitely curious about the new song that was played with the full band, “Lotus Flower.” This song was first played during Thom’s Eraser band show in LA last October.  Okay, it’s been told to us that Thom performed “Lotus Flower” alone and not with the full band.

Thom is reportedly DJing the small afterparty. How fancy.

Oh, and where can we get one of these badass gig posters like the one above?

Ed O'Brien Phil Selway

Ed and Phil to perform with Neil Finn

Neil FinnOld news, we know:

GP reader Simeon sent us the following:

Amazing musicians coming together in 3 New Zealand concerts including Radiohead members (from Concerts are 5, 6 and 7 January at The Powerstation in Auckland. Post if your interested:

Neil Finn announces new Seven Worlds Collide project
Music icon and Crowded House frontman Neil Finn has today announced a follow up to the acclaimed Seven Worlds Collide project, and together with members of the original lineup and other artists, he will record an album of entirely new material in support of Oxfam.

“Seven years ago I invited a few friends and fellow musicians to do a special series of concerts in New Zealand under the banner Seven Worlds Collide. The concerts were an amazing experience for all of us and we are delighted to have found an opportunity to gather again, this time to expand the concept and the lineup too,” said Finn. “What will make these sessions particularly meaningful is that all the proceeds of this recording will go to support the continuing great work of Oxfam International.”

Taking part from the original Seven Worlds Collide lineup will be Radiohead’s Ed O’Brien and Phil Selway, guitar supremo Johnny Marr founder of The Smiths and current member of US alternative rock innovators Modest Mouse, Soul Coughing bassist Sebastian Steinberg, songwriter and violinist Lisa Germano, and Liam Finn. Other artists joining the project include Jeff Tweedy, John Stirrat, Glenn Kotche and Pat Sansone from Wilco, and New Zealand songwriters Bic Runga and Don McGlashan. Behind the mixing desk will be master recording engineer Jim Scott. More names will be added to the lineup in the coming weeks.

“We are honoured to be working with Neil and so many other talented and committed artists on this project, many of whom have supported Oxfam over a number of years,” said Oxfam New Zealand Executive Director Barry Coates. “At a time when the number of people living in extreme poverty is growing, funds generated from this project will be urgently directed to those in need, providing opportunities and hope for a better future.”

The album will be recorded over the next few months in Auckland’s Roundhead Studios and is due for release in 2009.

Like its predecessor, the project will also see a series of concerts featuring many of the artists included in the lineup. The shows will take place in Auckland early in the New Year. Details will be announced soon.

“Everyone is really excited about coming together again with a few new faces and extending the magic we created with Seven Worlds the first time round,” added Finn. “With such an amazing group of people, I’m excited about the music we’ll be making.”