Thom Yorke

The Brothers Yorke contribute tracks to tribute album

Thom and brother, Andy
Thom and brother, Andy

This may be the first time Thom and his younger brother, Andy, have appeared on the same album. Both are contributing songs to Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy to help the former Miracle Legion front man continue making music while he raises his three-year old twin daughters.

If you weren’t aware, Andy Yorke has had his own band called Unbelievable Truth. They’ve been broken up for a while but appear to be back together, we think.

Thom is contributing a cover of “All for the Best” while Unbelievable Truth are providing the title track, “Ciao My Shining Star.”

Here’s the full tracklist:

01 Thom Yorke – “All For The Best”
02 The National – “Ashamed Of The Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley – “Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – “Micon The Icon”
07 Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies Of Love – “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From The Tombs – “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up In The Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense – “Paradise”
17 Hayden -“Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not In Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev – “Sailors And Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy is out on September 29.

(via Stereogum)


A new Yorke solo album on the way

Andy Yorke

Hehe.. no, not by Thom but rather his younger brother, Andy. If you didn’t know, Andy Yorke has had his own band called the Unbelievable Truth. They have released a couple of albums but have pretty much broken up. Andy had just finished recording an album of his own. Mixing finished in early August and a release is expected sometime early next year. Ex-Unbelievable Truth bandmates Nigel Powell and Jason Moulster were on hand, offering their talents on bass, drums, and keyboards.
You can listen to some of Andy’s songs at the following sites:
(thanks to Jason)