Thom Yorke

New Thom Yorke track: “All for the Best”

Ciao My Shining Star

Stereogum has the premiere of the new song, “All for the Best”, that Thom covered for the Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy tribute album. You may remember us reporting about this a few weeks back.

We’ve been told that Thom’s brother, in addition to having his own track on the album under his band Unbelievable Truth, provides the backing vocals for “All for the Best.” Correct us if we’re wrong, but this is the first time the two brothers have ever recorded a song together.

To hear the track, head on over to Stereogum.

The album is out on 9/29. Here’s the tracklist:

01 Thom Yorke – “All For The Best”
02 The National – “Ashamed Of The Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley – “Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – “Micon The Icon”
07 Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies Of Love – “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From The Tombs – “In Pursuit Of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up In The Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense – “Paradise”
17 Hayden -“Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not In Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev – “Sailors And Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

UPDATE: Thom confirmed on DAS today that he did record it with Andy. Speaking of Andy, did you know he has a solo album out? It’s called Simple and can be purchased on iTunes.