Kid A Radiohead

News for July 26, 1999

This is from the Panic Button site:

Eureka! Once again we have some news on the fourth album! After a very early morning phone-call from Brian Message, who looks after Radiohead at Courtyard Management, we have the following information for you: the band are currently in the studio where they are rehearsing for the next six weeks the news songs which will make it on the album. Afterwards, in September, they will break away for a couple of weeks holiday. It all starts to get really exciting at the end of September when they start recording. The album is supposed to be in the shops around May/June 2000. According to Radiohead’s management, this fourth album is aimed at being even better than OK Computer, if such a thing is possible at all.

There is a video of the Amnesty International Concert that was held in Paris last December that has recently been released. The video is of good quality but only contains 3 of the 10 songs Radiohead performed. You may purchase the video at Cdnow. For those of you that would like to see the whole performance, there is a video out now put out by Griftworks. It is really a great video with a Radioheadesque vibe to it. I suggest you check it out. You can may contact Griftworks by e-mailing them here.
That’s it!

Jonny Greenwood OK Computer Radiohead

News for April 9, 1999

It looks like a box set called “Good Karma” full of Radiohead’s b-sides may be released in the future.  A few online music stores (amazon, best buy) lists it to be released next year.  This may or may not be from Parlophone, Radiohead’s record label, and it will probably be available only in the UK.  This is all the info I know.  I’ll post more when it comes in.

The new Pavement album, “Terror Twilight”, will be released on June 8.  You may recall that Jonny provided the harmonica part on a few songs.

The Amnesty International concert that Radiohead took part in last December will be available soon on video on DVD.  It has been showing on Pay-per-view in the US but only contains 3 of the 10 songs Radiohead performed.  No word if the video will contain more footage and there is no release date set.
The new official Radiohead website should be up and running soon.  Stanley Donwood, Radiohead’s art guru, has been working hard on making the site.
Finally, I will be attending the screening of “Meeting People is Easy” in Chicago next Thursday at the Music Box.  I’ll most likely see the midnight showing also on Friday.  If you are going also, feel free to say hi.

OK Computer Radiohead Thom Yorke tour

News for January 27, 1999

phew. where do i begin? i haven’t updated since last summer so let me recap the highlights.

the band has been nominated for a grammy this year. you might be wondering, “for what?!” well the airbag ep has been nominated for “best alternative live performance.” here are the nominees:

1. beastie boys – hello nasty
2. tori amos – from the choirgirl hotel
3. smashing pumpkins – adore
4. pj harvey – is this desire
5. radiohead – airbag/ how am i driving ep
radiohead has also been nominated for a Brit award for best video on their no surprises video. the video was directed by grant gee, who you know directed the meeting people is easy documentary. and the nominees are…
1. all saints – under the bridge
2. mel b and missy elliot – i want you back
3. cornershop – brimful of asha
4. jamiroquai – deeper underground
5. massive attack – teardrop
6. george michael – outside
7. placebo – pure morning
8. radiohead – no surprises
9. robbie williams – let me entertain you
10. robbie williams – millennium

last december 10 at bercy stadium in paris, radiohead took part in the 50th anniversary of the universal declaration of human rights. it was a concert put on by amnesty international and the body shop. it was the only radiohead performance in europe for 1998.

setlist: lucky/ karma police/ exit music/ talk show host/ my iron lung/ no surprises/ fake plastic trees/ bones/ paranoid android/ street spirit/

Thom Yorke has revealed that performing at the Amnesty International gig is a way of “addressing my guilt, I guess”. In a recent interview, on UK’s Channel Four news he said: “Radiohead came out of the grunge culture of complaint. I think we’ve grown up and it’s dawned on us that our problems are utterly, utterly irrelevant and it’s offensive to have them rammed down your throat on MTV. Thom Yorke, who has always maintained a resolutely anti-rockstar attitude, also attacked the clichés of rock star celebrity: “What I find really offensive is the way our culture – once anyone has any degree of success – gets into the realms of Hello magazine ‘Have a look at our glamorous lifestyle that you should all be aspiring to – come look the homes of the rich ‘n’ famous and look at them doing charlie in the toilets. This is your future – this is success’.” He said he felt comfortable using his celebrity to help the cause of Amnesty International: “I don’t really use it for anything else.”

Thom Yorke, Beastie Boys’ Mike D and DJ Shadow join Handsome Boy Modeling School (ROLLING STONE)
The Handsome Boy Modeling School sounds like a front for a NAMBLA command center. Thankfully, it’s only an ultra-bizarre name for an experimental, hip-hop-skewed album created by Bay Area DJs producers Dan “The Automator” Nakamura and Prince Paul. The album, due out next April on Tommy Boy, will feature an all-star cast of trendy urban technicians, MCs, indie and electronica bedfellows, and alt-giants, such as DJ Shadow, Beastie Boy Mike D, Alec Empire and Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke — all too old and hairy in the wrong places to join an actual handsome boy modeling school. According to Nakamura, the “hip-hop textured” album will consist of between fifteen to twenty “things,” some of which will be skits, and the rest songs. “It’s not necessarily gonna be a big singles record or anything,” he says. “But it’s gonna be a cool record, I hope. I mean, so far the cuts we’ve done, I like ’em.” Right now, eleven tracks — all produced by Nakamura (Cornershop’s When I Was Born For the 7th Time) and Prince Paul (De La Soul’s 3 Feet High and Rising) are in various stages of completion, with Mike D and Cibo Matto vocalist Miho Hatori collaborating on a song called “Metaphysical,” German underground legend Alec Empire and indie hip-hop trio Company Flow providing flows on “Megaton B-Boy,” and DJ Shadow and Mixmaster Mike doing justice to “Holy Calamity.” Other artists making contributions to the album include Brand Nubian’s Maxwell “Grand Puba” Dixon and Derrick “Sadat X” Murphy, Ice Cube’s cousin Del tha Funkee Homosapien, Chinese Canadian DJ Kid Koala, and unofficial Beastie Boy Money Mark. While the Modeling School project progresses, Nakamura, Prince Paul and Dust Brother Mike Simpson are juggling another more mainstream brainchild called the Good, the Bad and the Ugly. “Generally, we’ve been designating Mike as the ugly,” jokes Nakamura. Under the trio’s guidance, Cornershop and De La Soul have already recorded their contributions to the album, with future cameos expected from Beck and Wu-Tang Clan’s RZA. Altogether, Nakamura expects between eight to ten vocal tracks on the album, which is slated for a release on Dreamworks some time next fall. “It’s a little more up the middle than [the Handsome Boy Modeling School],” he says.