Ed O'Brien Radiohead tour

Here’s what’s been happening in Radioheadland

Ed O'Brien at the University of GlamorganUpdates around here have been sparse lately so here’s what has been going on that you may have missed:

Radiohead – Codex (deadmau5 cover) by fuckmylife


OAF articles

Both Pitchfork and the NME have articles up about the recent discovery of the supposed On a Friday demo tracks.

At this point, it has neither been confirmed or denied that these are real. Maybe someone in the band would care to comment?
(thanks to Cera & Zach)


On a Friday mp3s

Some may be questioning the validity of the recently discovered On a Friday demo tracks. While we can’t say that we’re 100% sure that this is definitely Radiohead, we feel pretty confident that they are. Here’s some more info I received from Marc Gommans about how these were discovered:

This is an extract taken from the From A Great Height book:

“Around the beginning of 1991, a young man named John Butcher visited the {Courtyard} studio. In his pocket was a tape of fifteen sonds made by a band that featured two of his former classmates at Abingdon, Thom Yorke and Colin Greenwood. It was the first recording by On A Friday. {Chris} Hufford’s response was one of reserved interest. “There were some good tunes but it was all obviously ripped off mercilessly,” he remembers. The final track stood out for him, though; he describes it as a “weird looped-up dance thing which was completely mental.” Hufford was interested enough to ask for more.”
googlyamnesiac, a member of the Atease messageboard, picked up a CD in a record store (Bleeker Street Records) in New York which contained all these unreleased tracks + bonus tracks (for more information about the tracklist + scans, click here:
This CD is obviously not real (because it was originally recorded on tape). But the material IS real. Sure, only 14 tracks were reveiled yesterday (instead of 15), so there is either one track missing from the originally recorded demotape, or the information in the book (From A Great Height) is inaccurate.
But it makes sense, right? This last track Hufford was talking about, must have been “The New Generation”. And it obviously IS a completely mental looped-up dance thing.
My guess is that someone got his hands on this demo tape a couple of years ago, and decided to make some money out of it. So this person started to make several bootlegs discs (with extra bonus tracks), and sold it to record stores. And now, after all these years, the tracks finally got leaked onto the internet.

Download the tracks here or here and decide for yourself.


Rare On a Friday

Some very rare On a Friday demo tracks have recently become available for download. If you don’t know, On a Friday is name Radiohead used before signing their record deal.

Here are the track names:

1. Keep Strong
2. Somebody Else
3. I Want To Know
4. I’m Coming Up
5. Jerusalem
6. What Is That You Say?
7. Something You Hate
8. I Can’t
9. Without You
10. Give It Up
11. How Can You Be So Sure?
12. Everybody Lies Through Their Teeth
13. Rattlesnake In The Big City
14. The New Generation

To download them, head on over to
(thanks to rhfreak, audiothief, stimp, googlyamnesiac, Mark, & Marc)

OK Computer Radiohead Thom Yorke tour

News for April 23, 1998

Well the US tour is over and done with. Don’t expect anymore tour dates from them. They are scheduled to play at the third annual Tibetan Freedom Concert in Washington DC on June 13 and 14. Tickets for this mammoth concert are going on sale May 2 at your local TicketMaster outlets. For more info on this and the whole “Free Tibet” thing, visit

What is this? This year’s Glastonbury Festival seems to have a band by the name of “On A Friday” on the bill. For those of you just joining us, “On A Friday” was the name Radiohead had before signing their record deal. Keep in mind folks, this is just a rumor… don’t get crazy yet.

As reported earlier, Thom is supposedly a guest on Cartoon Network’s Space Ghost Coast to Coast which airs Friday nights at midnight. No date has been announced for the show’s airing, but it is said that the show was taped last Saturday.

Radiohead has been nominated for two Ivor Norvello Awards (the UK’s most important songwritting awards.) Karma Police is nominated for Best Contemporary Song while Paranoid Android is nominated for Best Song Musically and Lyrically.

The Airbag/ How am I Driving EP should be available now to everyone. You can read a nice review of it in the L.A. Times by teasing your mouse here.